Dr. Augustin DeLago recognized by American Heart Association

Recipient of the "Physician of Excellence in Interventional Cardiology Award"
Dr. Augustin DeLago

The American Heart Association has recognized Dr. Augustin DeLago with the “Physician of Excellence in Interventional Cardiology Award”. Dr. DeLago, the Director of Interventional Cardiology at Albany Medical Center, has long been in the forefront of technological advances in his field. He has broadened the use of angioplasty as a substitute for open heart surgery. His interests have included intracoronary radiotherapy, the exploration of the use of lasers to treat myocardial ischemia and the use of intravascular flow assist devices to treat congestive heart failure. He has published extensively in this field and has been a mentor to a generation of cardiology fellows and medical residents.

Most recently, Dr. DeLago led a multidisciplinary team of physicians and surgeons to launch Albany Med’s TAVR (transcatheter aortic valve replacement) program in December 2011. Under his direction Albany Medical Center became one of the nation’s first providers of TAVR, performing the first two just a month after the procedure was approved by the FDA.

The CDPHP Physicians’ Academy was established as a means of harnessing the energy and excellence of the CDPHP physician network to shape and improve the future of health care in our service area. The Academy recognizes physicians who serve as role models to their medical colleagues and who act as ambassadors in fostering the delivery of high value health care.  Honorees are nominated by their peers and selected by an esteemed panel of judges.

This year, Dr. Augustin DeLago, Interventional Cardiologist, President of Capital Cardiology Associates and Director of Interventional Cardiology and the Cardiac Catheterization Lab at Albany Medical Center, has been chosen for the 2014 class for his outstanding contributions to the medical field and dedication to the community.

Congratulations to Dr. DeLago for all of his outstanding achievements.

Thank you to the American Heart Association, Howard Carr and the Selection Committee and CDPHP Physicians’ Academy, Dr. John Bennett and Dr. Bruce Nash for these honors.